Banting challenge: update 1

It’s been one week since I started my Banting challenge. So far so good. I haven’t cheated at all and kept to the rules very strictly. I decided to write an update on how things are going and what I’m feeling/thinking thus far.

First impressions:

  1. Banting is an upper middle-class diet. No jokes, Banting is for rich people. This was one of the first things that I noticed about this diet. Carbs are cheap, almost all of them: Bread, Pasta, Potatoes etc.
    When you start cutting out all these carbs, and look at the alternatives (Almond flour, Linseed flour, coconut flour etc.) you soon realize how expensive it is to eat like a normal person and still Bant. Meats, cream, cheese etc. are all the expensive stuff.
  2. Cutting carbs from eating patterns really isn’t hard. I am still eating enough, drinking coffee, and life goes on. I only had to skip out on office hot dogs and beer, and honestly it’s not a big deal. I don’t drink or really eat sugar so I don’t find myself missing any of it. I found that doing a detox was WAY harder than doing the Banting diet.

After a week:

  1. I lost one kilogram after a week… honestly for the hype the Banting diet is, I am really disappointed, I expected more. I thought that I usually did better with diets, but then when I checked my logs on my weight-loss challenge, I realized that this seems normal for me. So ok… apparently I am not going to lose 15 kilograms this month. More like 4 if I am lucky.
  2. Physically I don’t feel any different than I usually do, it’s not like I have more energy or anything that the Banting evangelists talk about. I still have ups and downs in energy, still get head-aches every now and again, and I was sick over the weekend. So no Banting magic working on me yet.

And finally, I just have to say that my wife is awesome. She decided to join me in this challenge, and has been making us amazing food! I never even knew that you can do the things that she did with food thus far, and she just keeps coming up with new ways to make Bant interesting. I am blessed 🙂

About Nico Smit

Nico Smit works in Cape Town, South Africa at a digital agency by day. At night he tries to balance amateur writing, family life and countless hobbies, life is too short to waste time.
This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Health & Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

