September 2015 Challenge: Banting

The hype about the “Banting diet” has been making the rounds for the last couple of years. I have been obstinately refusing to budge (and I still do) – but seeing as I try different challenges on a monthly bases, I decided that doing a month of the Banting diet won’t kill me.

I have been slowly gaining a lot of weight over the last year or so, so doing a diet is probably a good challenge to do at this point. (On a side note, I also started doing more regular exercise to address my general health)

So for September, I am officially Banting. For those who don’t know about Banting, here are the basics:

  1. Banting is a LCHF (Low Carb High Fat) diet.
  2. All carbohydrates are pretty much considered “evil” and should not be eaten at all… yes, ALL carbohydrates, this includes fruits and high-carb vegetables!
  3. All animal fats are considered “good”, so you HAVE to eat the fat of your lamb and the extra fatty bacon. The idea is that fat fills you up and sustains you, so lay on that fatty goodness.
  4. It’s not about eating small portions, so don’t go hungry, it’s about regulating what you eat.

I think that pretty much sums it up. So I am now cutting out pretty much all carbs, living off eggs, meat and certain selected veggies for a month. This will be an interesting case for me to document my findings on the Banting diet and how I experience it.

About Nico Smit

Nico Smit works in Cape Town, South Africa at a digital agency by day. At night he tries to balance amateur writing, family life and countless hobbies, life is too short to waste time.
This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

