Update and news

I know I have been very quiet on this blog for most of the year. I fell into a rigorous daily routine of getting up early, working, squeezing one or two extra things into the day, sleeping, and repeat.

I have not gotten around to doing my monthly challenges as I would have liked, so this space has been extremely boring, my apologies. I do want to try and push myself a bit to take on the monthly challenges again, so I won’t be abandoning this blog just yet. I really like the one month challenges and they do help a lot. For right now, however, I’m probably not committing to anything just yet, will see.

The good news is that I have not been totally stagnating in this time and there has been some changes happening this year, among them are the following:

  • I have been working on a novel for the most of last year as well as this year. This has been going fairly good in spite of the time constraints. I squeeze off a couple of minutes sometimes early morning before work to get to writing. I also spent a lot of time writing on the train (while I was still taking Metrorail). I have reached 80,000 words this morning (yay!), my goal is to conclude the story around 100,000 words, so that means that I am about 80% done with my first draft. This is quite a cool journey and I am going to finish it.
  • I started another blog, writing on the topic of Fantasy and SciFi: Fantastical Muse
    I know I know, ANOTHER blog. I am just blaming my A.D.D and my zest to experience life and all it can offer me. But hey, now I write about cool things like space cowboys and super heroes, who doesn’t enjoy that?
  • I read some books. This is mostly for academical purpose more so than for fun. I haven’t really been a big reader for most of my life, and seeing as I am now writing an epic fantasy novel, I realized that I had to skill up on the genre, so I have been reading fantasy novels, and am enjoying it.
  • I am listening to audio books while commuting. This adds to the previous point, I have listened to the full “Lord of the rings”, completed one of the “Chronicles of Narnia” books, and I am now working my way through “Dune”. I have to drive about 80km per day, so I decided to put that time to good use and study the fantasy/scifi classics via audio while driving – it has been pretty good.
  • I “built” a standing desk… ok it’s actually just an empty beer box on top of my desk at work. I am putting my laptop on the box and now I can stand while working. I am trying to stand at least for some of the hours in the day. My hope is that this will help my back a bit, I try to pull in my tummy and strengthen my core through this as well. Not the most comfortable way to work, but I think in the long run it will be better than sitting at a computer for a living. Got to change it up with sitting and standing.

On the downside I have not really been exercising this year, and therefore I can’t say that my health is getting better. Mental note, I have to sort that out.

There we go, that’s an update from my side. Maybe don’t hold your breath for updates on this blog, I will be shifting more focus to my new blog, so if you are at all interested in my babbling thoughts about stuff, head over to fantasticalmuse.wordpress.com

About Nico Smit

Nico Smit works in Cape Town, South Africa at a digital agency by day. At night he tries to balance amateur writing, family life and countless hobbies, life is too short to waste time.
This entry was posted in Enrichment, Habbits, Making Changes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

