Exercise month update 1

I have been at the exercising month for about 10 days now so I decided to write an update as to how things are going:

The back:

After I started doing some core exercises which basically lets you twist and turn, I started having allot of back muscle pain. Please note that this was the “good” pain, in that its not something that is wrong, it’s something that has worked hard and is now tired. It is different from the pain I experience when trying to do sit-ups and stuff. I hope that this means that I am now starting to exercise some back muscles that I never really used, hopefully they will get stronger and strengthen my back so that I will be able to do other abs exercises somewhere in the future.

These back muscle pain got so bad that I had to take a day off from exercising, to let my muscles recover. They were so sore that I was groaning all the time.

The rest:

So let’s follow up on my planned routine and see how I am doing:

  1. Walking to work and back is going good. I drove two days because of very heavy rains, but the rest of the time I’m walking to work and back.
  2. The weekend workout didn’t happen… my bad. I planned to go hiking with my wife in the mountains on Sunday, but Sunday was pouring rain like crazy. So I ended up not doing much the whole day, or weekend. Just did my normal exercise.
  3. “Burn it to earn it” – doing push-ups before every drink or meal. This is going so-so, I mostly do the push-ups, but still forget sometimes. I guess my heart is still in it so it’s fine, I will try to remember all the time.
  4. Running twice a week – check. May I note that I ran in the rain twice now! Dedicated. Well done to my wife for joining me for the runs.
  5. Standing, sitting and walking up straight. Going quite good I think. As I mentioned earlier though, I am experiencing quite some pain because of this. I am now trying to not only sit up straight, but also to cram my abdominal muscles while sitting, so as to support my back more.

On another side note. I haven’t gained weight yet this month (didn’t loose any either) – so it seems like the 5kg I lost last month is going to stick. Awesome 🙂

About Nico Smit

Nico Smit works in Cape Town, South Africa at a digital agency by day. At night he tries to balance amateur writing, family life and countless hobbies, life is too short to waste time.
This entry was posted in Excercise, Health & Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment